Skip to main content

On July 22, the campus was alive with jubilation and mirth during the Mid-Pacific Alumni Pā‘ina, marking the most significant alumni gathering of the year. This cherished occasion brought together alumni, past and present faculty, family, and dear friends for a day of reconnection, forging new bonds, and commemorating class reunions. With nearly 400 attendees, the atmosphere was electric as everyone reveled in the company of honored guests and indulged in delectable offerings from an array of local food vendors. Heartfelt thanks extend to the dedicated volunteers, outstanding vendors, generous benefactors, and the diligent Mid-Pacific staff who all played pivotal roles in ensuring the resounding success of this event.

The campus tours proved to be a highlight, evoking a flood of memories for our guests as they strolled through familiar spaces from their student days. Guided by enthusiastic volunteers, Teacher Kathy Wheeler ’81, Vice President of Institutional Advancement Shannon Cleary, and Middle School Director of Student Activities Hōkū (Mizumoto) Chong ’94, these tours provided an opportunity for guides to share in the nostalgia, recounting the transformations that the campus has undergone over the years. For returning alumni, the halls of Wilcox, Atherton, and Kawaiaha‘o served as poignant vessels of remembrance, rekindling the significance of their formative experiences on campus. Many were astounded by the state-of-the-art marvels like the Weinberg Technology Plaza, Hartley Math and Science Complex, and the enchanting preschool and elementary campus.

Following the tours, guests gathered at 5:00 p.m. in Bakken Auditorium, where Lance Takaki ’99 presided over the formal program. Mid-Pacific Institute Alumni Association’s (MPIAA) President Tracy Fukuda ’92, started the program with the MPIAA General Meeting introducing the slate of this year’s new board members, Shelby Fujitani ’11, Karen (Kawano) Koles ’63, and Wade Ueoka ’93. She also presented the 2023-2024 alumni association officers as President Jourdan Okada ’98, Vice President Wesley Sato ’00, Treasurer Keric Chang ’01, and Co-Secretaries Robynne (Kurihara) Migita ’92 and Ryan Hobson ’11. 

Mid-Pacific President Dr. Paul Turnbull then graced the stage, extending warm salutations and reflecting on recent school triumphs, all the while expressing profound gratitude for the unwavering support of our cherished guests. MPIAA President Tracy Fukuda ’92 had the honor of introducing former faculty member and Middle School Activities Director Ann Kondo as the esteemed recipient of the 2023 Wa‘ahila Award. This accolade served as a testament to Ann’s extraordinary contributions during her 37-year tenure at the school, as well as her unwavering dedication and support of its alumni.


Join us for the 2024 Alumni Pā‘ina!

Saturday, July 20, 2024

Mid-Pacific Campus

Wa‘ahila Award Honoree Ann Kondo and MPIAA President Tracy Fukuda ’92.

Todd Jinbo ’96 performing for guests.

Todd Jinbo ’96 receiving the 2023 Alumni of the Year Award presented by Keric Chang ’01.

Dorothy (Hanamaika‘i) Crowell ’55 and Wa‘ahila Award recipient Ann Kondo (far left) enjoying the beautiful performance of former Pūpūkahi I Ke Alo O Nāpua students, Reyn Halford ’08, Todd Jinbo ’96, Chad Palmer ’94, and Matthew McGuigan ’95, led by Kumu Hula Michael Lanakila Casupang (background).

Joanne Suzuki, Gale Ikeda, Dorothy (Hanamaika‘i) Crowell ’55 and Ann Kondo.

Brad Tada ’93, Keenan Lam ’93, Mia Wakabayashi ’93, Marc Ryusaki ’93, Ann Kondo, Ryane Doi ’93, Wade Ueoka ’93, and Robby Robinson ’93.

Food Stations By:

Bamboo Catering – Jason Takemura ’95
C4 Table – Colin Hazama
Concept Catering Hawaii – Keenan Lam ’93
Hawaii Cupcake Factory – Tara (Aoyagi) Lumford ’96
Feast by Jon Matsubara – Jon Matsubara
Flavours by Sodexo at UH Mānoa – Marc Nakamoto ’91 & John Lopianetzsky
Hā‘awi Toast & Tea – Bonnie Shishido
Kapa Hale Restaurant – Keaka Lee & Heather Smith-Lee
Katsu Sando 808 – Nani (Hirosane) Hanus ’96
MW Restaurant – Wade Ueoka ’93
Mud Hen Water – Ed Kenney
Zach’s Event Catering – Zach Inouye ’99

Wine & Beer Donated By:

Island Distributing LLC
Tamura Super Market – Charlie Gustafson

Juices & Teas Donated By:

Hawaiian Sun – Robynne (Kurihara) Migita ’92

Poke Donated By:

Tropic Fish Hawaii LLC

Cookies Donated By:

Diamond Bakery – Christopher Manabe ’87
United Airlines

Flowers Donated By:

Aloha Island Lei – Daniel Paik ’99

Bartending Services By:

Flavours by Sodexo at UH Mānoa – Marc Nakamoto ’91 & John Lopianetzsky

DJ Entertainment Provided By:

From Above Entertainment

Photo Booth Provided by:

Pics in Paradise – Conan Young ’05

Tent, Tables, and Chairs:

XME Party Rentals – Donny Kadokawa ’91

Photography Provided By:

Stephen Kato ’93
Holly (Imai) Iwasaki ’96